Following Happiness

After waiting quite some time to get my hands on it, I’ve finally been reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. It’s a really intriguing read following a year long project in which the writer worked to become happier even though she was already fairly happy. I think that’s a wonderful idea – examining our lives and striving to inject a little more happiness into them. Or even just to notice and be grateful for the things that we already have in our lives.

I wrote a very short book (about 60 pages) that I self-published called Perk Up! 100 Ways to Get Happy! While it focused on things one could do in order to find more instant happiness, it didn’t plumb the depths or scour the corners of happiness in order to better understand the feeling and it’s causes like Rubin’s book did.

In one part of the book, Rubin explains how she spontaneously decides to start a book club with a focus more on children’s literature. She goes on to explain that she’s always loved reading that genre but always felt guilty or almost ashamed for enjoying it. I’ve found myself in the same boat at times. Especially when it comes to reading books that have been turned into movies. For some reason, that almost makes it worse, or seems like you’ve come to the party late and are just jumping on the bandwagon of liking the book. Except the only other people on the band wagon are 15-20 years younger than you. It was refreshing to see from Rubin’s book that there are other adults who enjoy the fun and purity of reading children’s literature.  

I think I’m going to try to give myself more permission to wander into the children’s section of the library (which somehow already makes me sound like a pedofile in my head) and find something new and exciting to read. Or maybe pick up a book I haven’t read since I was a kid. 

I already feel happy at the mere thought of picking up such a book!

Leave a Reply

