Flash Fiction

I used to think that short stories would be easier to write because they’re, well, short. However, every time I try to write a short story, it balloons into a full length novel. I guess this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, as long as I can continue to tell the story without just using filler. 

I’ve mostly stuck with writing books with the occasional foray into short stories that I end up abandoning when they get too lengthy. Recently, however, I ran across Flash Fiction. If you’ve never heard of Flash Fiction, you’re not alone. Flash Fiction is a story usually between 500 to 1000 words.  It seems to mostly thrive online and can sometimes be even shorter than that. 

It sounded like a challenge, so I thought I’d try my hand at it. The following post is my first attempt at Flash Fiction. I’ve also written another piece that I’ve submitted to Glimmer Train. 

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Flash Fiction

    1. Oh. That makes so much sense! It’s so funny how those simple kind of things don’t come to you unless someone else suggests them. I’ll have to try that! Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

