NaNoWriMo

Every year I’m a little too late in remembering the NaNoWriMo challenge. In case you don’t know (because I didn’t for the longest time), November is National Novel Writing Month and NaNoWriMo is a challenge to write a novel of 50,000 words or more in that month.

So, given that November has 30 days, I need to write about 1,667 words each day to reach 50,000 words. If we estimate that a double-spaced page holds about 250 words, then that (roughly) comes out to writing about 7 pages a day. I think I can do this. For a time, I was writing 10 pages a day. The difficult part will be when I’m working. I’ll definitely have to write at night after work to keep up with my goal. I’ll also need to write over 10 pages on my days off from work in order to keep up.

Still, even knowing that it will be difficult, I’m pretty stoked about joining in on the challenge this year. It’s neat, too, that the site provides a sort of community of support for writers. That’s something I haven’t really found yet. It would be great to have support when I hit the inevitable middle of the story and my writing stamina starts to flag. I find it difficult to finish the story when I know what’s going to happen. It’s much more interesting to suddenly get carried away with a new story – something that doesn’t yet have an ending, just endless possibilities.

For the first time since I started writing, I’m going to try a more organized route of writing and create an outline. Ah yes, the dreaded outline. I used to argue (with myself) that using an outline wasn’t fun – it didn’t allow the story to flow freely from one’s fingertips and cut out the possibility of random bursts of creativity with the story. Now, however, after experiencing mid-book melancholy (where I start to doubt my book, question the story and wonder whether anyone will ever read it) while writing every one of my books so far, I’ve decided to attempt writing by outline.

And what better time to use an outline than NaNoWriMo!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. There are a number of helpful websites listed in the NaNoWriMo forums, as well as Pep Talks from writers, and you should be able to find a ton of posts about NaNo on WP. Good luck and happy writing!

Leave a Reply

