Waiting for Clarity

I just stumbled across Lewis Howes’ The School of Greatness podcast and LOVE IT! He interviews an amazing variety of people – authors, athletes, entrepreneurs – and talks about each interviewee’s specific field and what they consider success.

Recently he interviewed author Jeff Goins (who is out of Nashville – woot, woot!) and they discussed some key points of Goins’ book, The Art of Work. I haven’t read it yet, but the book is supposed to help you discover what your true calling is in life (and admits there’s probably more than one true calling for each person.)

What struck me the most about the podcast with Goins’ was when he stated that many people are “waiting for clarity” in their lives. That we’re waiting for the exact right opportunity or we’re waiting until we suss out the exact calling for ourselves before we start to pursue that calling.

I think it’s really easy to get stuck in this rut of “waiting for clarity.” We think, I don’t know what I want to do with my life and then we do nothing. Because really, it’s scary to do something if we’re not sure it’s the right thing. But if we do nothing, if we keep waiting…and waiting…and waiting – then that’s all we’ll end up doing. Waiting instead of living.

I’m absolutely guilty of this. Of waiting for clarity to figure out exactly what I should be doing. To figure out what my true vocation is. But really, it’s right there in front of me. Heck, I’m doing it already – writing, life/career coaching, and professional resume writing. What I lack is the push to be the best I can be in these areas. Right now I’m just doing the easy stuff like writing – okay, that’s not easy…but it’s less intense to me than marketing. Instead I should keep writing, but make time for marketing. Push myself to network more. See myself as a writer, life coach and professional resume writer.

So, no more waiting for clarity. Things will get clearer as we push through and tackle those things we might usually shy away from.

Keep writing.

2 thoughts on “Waiting for Clarity

  1. Well…I’m an author of 4 unpublished novels, but I am still an author. I am an artist, although I create only for me, but I am still an artist. You know in your heart what and who you are – don’t let others tell you any differently.

Leave a Reply

