D= Digging Deeper

There are some writing days when the words seem to fill the pages of their own accord, and other days it’s a struggle to even string together enough words to build a sentence. Some days every character makes sense and you know their every move. Other days you can barely visualize what your characters look like, let alone what they’d say in a situation.

And then some days, you write yourself into a corner. It’s on these days that I find I have to dig deeper as a writer. To come up with solutions that don’t seem too fantastical, but solve the problems I’ve caused for my own characters.

To me, digging deeper covers a lot of things, not just the emotional scenesSometimes I have to dig deeper to create more believable character personalities. Other times I’m digging deeper just to come up with a witty response that one of my characters would say.

What about you? What does digging deeper mean to you?

 

5 thoughts on “D= Digging Deeper

  1. Great post!!! When I need to dig deeper it’s usually with dialogue. How my characters respond to one another, having a quick or witty response but without making it too preachy. Digging deeper to me means making sure the pacing of my story does not distract my readers whether that means writing a short scene that leaves them so confused they have to step away or adding too many elements (like long, explanatory dialogue) that bores them to tears. Dig Deeper=writing or editing myself in order to creat scenes that leave a lasting impact on the reader 🙂

    1. I totally hear you on digging deeper for writing character responses that aren’t too preachy. Ugh. It’s always a bit cringe-worthy to go back and reread your work and stumble across a section in which one of your characters is basically explaining the meaning of life in long, rambling sentences. Gah.

  2. Digging deeper for me means digging deeper into my characters’ backstory, usually my protagonist or my antagonist or villain. It always happens when the story isn’t working because one of those two main characters don’t seem believable enough. I’ve learned that they don’t seem true to life because their motivation isn’t real. I don’t have this problem as much with my protagonist as often as I do with my villain so it’s not so much a character arc issue as it is a motivation issue. I dig deeper to find the wound, the underlying hurt, the pain that caused my villain to behave the way they do. Why are they so viscous or evil? Why are they so hell bent on revenge? What happened in their past that was so bad, so traumatic that turned them into the mean, viscous or evil person they are today in the novel I’m writing.

    Funny that I should stumble upon your blog post because my letter C post which I posted today, is on this very same subject. I enjoyed your post and will be back to read the rest and to catch up on letters A and B.

    Melissa Sugar
    http://melissasugarwrites.com

    1. Thanks for commenting Melissa! Your comment really made me think about some of the “extra” effort that feels required when we have to dig deeper to understand a character. It’s interesting that oftentimes there’s more going on “behind the scenes” than most readers realize when it comes to character motivation. Maybe the character’s reasoning for his/her actions gets into the book, or maybe it doesn’t and all that effort, which was required for the writer to understand his/her characters, feels like extra effort.

Leave a Reply

