N= Nomad

As a military brat who moved every 2-3 years growing up, it’s difficult for me to stay in any one place for too long. I feel that this nomadic nature helps feed my inner writer. Meeting new people, seeing new places, and experiencing new cultures helps to add flavor to my writing and boosts my creativity.

Feeding my inner writer doesn’t always need to involve a move, though. Sometimes merely going to the park for a walk or shopping at a new store gives me fodder for new characters or helps me create fictional relationships I might not have otherwise considered.

However, though these small trips help keep my inner writer fed, they are more like little snacks. When I’m feeling especially stuck or in need of a new idea, a big vacation or move is what I really need to get unstuck.

What about you? Do you have a nomadic nature which helps you fuel your creativity or do you have other methods for feeding your inner writer?

One thought on “N= Nomad

Leave a Reply

